Back in the USA

When last I left you, 8 days ago, I had a stomach issue. In the days since then, I flew from Quito to Esmeraldas on Ecuador’s coast, spent 4 days in Atacames with no internet, flew to Cali (Colombia) and immediately on to Bogota, spent one night there, changed my flight, and flew to…Miami!

After four weeks of the Worst Trip Ever, I was burnt out. As I waited for my (delayed, canceled, delayed, and delayed again) flight from Cali to Bogota, I thought over the possible activities for the coming week with absolutely no interest or excitement. For me, the Most Enthusiastic Person Ever, this was an alarming first. The danger, mugging, robbery, and other miserable incidents left me with nothing but a vague sense of despair and the panicky thought “how am I going to survive another week and a half?”

So, I did the only thing that I could muster up any enthusiasm for, and changed my Bogota-Miami flight.

And now I’m here in lovely South Beach, enjoying the sun and the food and the fact that I can RUN! Run without worrying about getting knifed/pinched/mugged/harassed/killed!

Last night, I ran 3.5 miles on Miami Beach under a full moon, and cooled off by walking along the water in the moonlight. One of my favorite runs ever. 🙂

Aaannnd, with my amazing cheap-plane-ticket-finding powers, I managed to add New York to the itinerary before LA. Lots of running in lots of amazing places.

2 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon

2 responses to “Back in the USA

  1. Sorry to hear about your shortened trip but it seems to have been the right decision. Happy to hear that you are finally enjoying your trip. Safety always comes first. Enjoy what is left of it.

  2. Well, that’s life. Some journey can be the best trip ever and sometimes it isn’t. The bottom line is we get to enjoy life to the fullest no matter what hindrances may come to our paths.. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

