Running with a cold

After my corn dog meltdown this morning, I was determined to run. So after work, I mustered the energy to haul my sickly self off of the couch and to the treadmill–there was no way I was going outside with this hacking cough–and set out to do 5 miles to make up in some small way for yesterday’s sloth.

Two miles in, it was clear that 5 miles wasn’t going to happen. My lungs were burning, I could feel a wheeze coming on, and not even crap afternoon TV could distract me from my misery. After three miles, I did a weird interval mile of faster runs for .15-.2 and then walking for .1 to recover.

But, I ran! Time to pound more hot tea.

6 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon

6 responses to “Running with a cold

  1. Kristin

    Congratulations on getting back in the game. I also slacked off the beginning of this week and I don’t have the excuse of being sick or busy.

  2. Carrie

    Good Work! Maybe tonight you will sleep a little better because you ran. Every little bit counts!

  3. JC

    Hurrah for determination! Get well soon!

  4. ashley

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! At least you ran and with a cold that’s talking determination!

  5. You poor thing! 😦 I hope the next run feels better!

  6. Gee! Good for you! You did it. You still ran despite of the cold – congratulations! You are truly a great runner. Get well soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

