Treadmill or Dreadmill?

I have to smile whenever I hear “dreadmill” because oh, how I identify. I dread even the idea getting on that thing and running to…nowhere. It’s all about the journey, my friends, all about the journey.

Ha. Now that I’ve gotten THAT out of my system…

Yesterday, Tracy over at Run Tracy Run posted about having trouble moving from the treadmill to outdoor running. Now, I will do just about anything to avoid the treadmill–run outside in rain, snow, hail, air so cold you cough the second it hits your lungs, you name it. Tracy’s post got got me thinking–the last time I was on a treadmill was during week 6 or 7 of the Couch to 5K program back in December. It was about 4 degrees outside, and I was in cold, grey, sleety, miserable Detroit. Why not stay inside to run and watch Ugly Betty? I lasted 5 minutes before I was huffing and the front of my ankles hurt (I later learned that tapping the toe of each foot for a minute before getting on will solve that), and the creepy dude in the corner was lifting 10 pound weights and shooting me “aren’t you impressed?” glances. (um, ew) I ended up finishing the run in the cold on a dark golf course, and it far surpassed my 5 minutes inside.

So today, I thought I’d give it a try just to see if things have changed…plus, I was far too lazy to get in the car and drive to a semi-interesting running route. Track season has arrived and my normal route is polluted with stick-thin highschoolers racing along without even thinking about it. Jerks. 🙂

I set up the treadmill, balanced my laptop precariously on a carefully-stacked pile of objects, and loaded the ultimate in trash TV (The Bachelor…don’t judge me :)), and off I went. 5mph mile warm-up, 6mph mile, 6.5mph mile, and then a final mile with a weird combination of 6.5, 6, 7, and 8 mph.

And it was…boring. Oh.My.God I was bored! Nothing to look at, the treadmill drowned out the sound of the show (headphones weren’t long enough), and I kept looking at the miles creep past. I have new respect for all of you runners who pound out the runs on the mill! It was interesting, too…the belt pulls you along even when you’d normally slow down (even if it’s not necessary), which was great when my mind started telling me that hey, you should probably be tired now, look how far you’ve gone. Plus, it was fun to push higher speeds just to see how they felt. On the other hand, I didn’t feel much of a burn because my legs weren’t using as much effort to push me along.

But, on a grey day–with very, VERY sore butt muscles thanks to the strength training for runners exercises at Run With Jill–it was a good alternative.

5 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon

5 responses to “Treadmill or Dreadmill?

  1. run4may

    Loved reading this post about treadmills. You put all my feelings towards treadmill running in words.

    Don’t you love feeling that burn in your butt.

    P.S. I loved watching the Bachelor- But, I disagree with his decision.

  2. run4may

    Hey I want to be your friend on Nike+. How can I search for you? That is if you want to be friends. If not no big deal, I don’t really understand the point of having friends on Nike+, I don’t see it a social network.

  3. I’m sorry, but it is impossible for me to not judge The Bachelor. 😉 I like to run while watching sporting events; anything else, and I can get bored.

    I have to say, hearing about how much more you love running outside makes me want to try working more outdoor runs into my training. Who knows — maybe I’ll find that I like it better too (once I adjust and can do my run on pavement without feeling like I may keel over at any moment)!

  4. JC

    I actually used to hate running outdoors & preferred the treadmill because I couldn’t figure out why it was I could run so much longer on a treadmill. Plus the treadmill let me think about… everything under the sun since the scenery didn’t change.

    I forced myself to start running outdoors though & now I prefer it over the treadmill!

  5. Pingback: Week 8 is on! | Run, Tracy, Run!

Leave a Reply

