My first 7 mile run!

I ran 7 miles!! (That totally deserves an extra exclamation point.) After the failed attempt on Sunday (damn you, Nike+), I decided to do my long run today. It felt really strange to do on a Tuesday after a long workday–I love my Sunday runs. 🙂 I measured the distance first on MapMyRun and in the car…and then missed the road sign and went .5 miles further before turning around–so I did just over 7 miles total! Not bad, considering I was aiming for 6. And, though I have not touched the calibration, the Nike+ was about .63 off this time, as opposed to the whopping 1.3 on Sunday. The run graph:

half marathon training

This was my first run that was significantly over an hour, and I learned a few things:

1. “They” are not kidding about eating on workouts over an hour. The last two miles were kind of grueling. Scratch that–very grueling. I walked several times and lost the spring in my step, and I’m guessing a snack would have restored some of that energy. By the time I got to the car, my head was spinning (blood sugar issues = exaggerated reactions), and I had a headache before long, which has only just gone away. I ate an apple but couldn’t force down a chicken sandwich. I love the idea of taking real food on runs, as opposed to sport beans or gels (not that I’ve ever tried either), but that will require some experimenting. Do I really have to get a running belt? I could…tape a sandwich baggie to my leg or something. 🙂 Or, buy running clothes with pockets.

Okay, can I pause for a second to mention how exciting it is to be seriously considering refueling during a run? Makes me feel like a real (albeit slooow) runner. 🙂

2. I need longer playlists! My This American Life podcast ran out at the one-hour mark, which left me with a running podcast that only served to draw attention to what my body was doing. The LAST thing I wanted to do was think about my legs, especially when I ran through some unexpectedly thick mud that coated my shoes and made my feet feel about 10 pounds heavier. Just an extra half hour of my beloved NPR would have been a soothing influence. Next up: audiobooks.

3. Running is mental. Seriously. A few hours later, my body feels fine. My legs aren’t sore, I’m not feeling more tired than usual. My body knows it’s been pushed, but it’s funny how the knowledge that I’ve gone farther than normal tricks the mind into thinking that my legs were tired. I mean, I’m sure they were, but certainly not to the point of exhaustion. And on a side note, could I BE prouder of my body?

4. Once again, I adore the post-run shower. Today, I actually exclaimed out loud as I stepped into the shower–so refreshing and comforting.

5. New routes make a big difference. It’s lovely to have new scenery. I’m so, SO excited to be plotting routes in other cities and countries. Salt Lake City in two weeks (my first official 5K!), Flagstaff in a month, Vegas soon after (I wonder if I can run near the Strip?), and then Colombia (where I’ll be running from guerrillas and overzealous Latin men…the curse of blonde hair). And, as I train for the Chicago Marathon, there’s a good chance it’ll be in the Andes. (!!!) More on that later.

For now, a few questions: Have you ever run with audiobooks? What non-running podcasts do you recommend? What do you eat during long runs?

6 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon

6 responses to “My first 7 mile run!

  1. Congrats on the 7 miler during a weekday! I did a longer run on Monday in those same conditions. Hmm fueling. Fuel belts and I do NOT get a long. I gave them a try during training in the fall. They would ride up on me so I’d be constantly pushing them down. My fueling depends on the route and if there will be water stops/trip to my car…etc. Instead, I hold onto an Amphipod water bottle which has a holder for keys and my clifblocks. Clifblocks are what work for me and my stomach 🙂

    • Tom

      Congrats on the long run! That is fantastic and I am happy that it went really well.

      As far as fueling, I often run with a guy that has done about 15 marathons. He is out of his mind and stuffs his pockets with Oreos when he runs.

      Probably would not be my first choice unless I could bring a bag of milk with me too! Seems to work for him though.

      Keep up the good work and keep smilin’

      -Tom
      http://www.thomasburkeiv.com

  2. Carrie

    Congrats on your 7 miles!!! That is as far as I have gotten so far. And for me it was a BIG deal, so you have all the right in the world to be proud!!!!!! I hit my first 7 miles and then my knee decided to be a pain. I have been battling it for a couple weeks now. 😦 I tried the cliff blocks, like Tom. I like them for my longer runs. 6 and 7 miles take a lot out of me since I am a slow jogger but they helped me a lot and worked with my stomach! Good luck with your next long run!

  3. Great job on the new PDR! This post is so inspiring. I can tell you are meant to run!

    I have not run with audio books, but like to listen to the Two Fit Chicks and a Microphone and Food for Thought podcasts.

    I take homemade granola bars on my runs, and sometimes pretzels. I usually tuck them into my pocket or slip them between my reflective belt and body.

    Can’t wait to hear about the next run!

  4. Kristin

    I like your comment about the curse of blond hair.
    I currently live and run in China and I certainly understand the curse.

    Great job on the 7 miles. When I trained for my half marathon I was always so excited after I increased my long run by another mile. It is great to think back and realize you are running farther than you would have thought possible. Especially when you finish the run and think “I am tired, but if I needed to I could go a little farther”.

    Also I completely agree about the shower. I like to say that the shower is my reward for exercising. My post-run showers are easily 2-3 times longer than a normal shower.

  5. marathonkim

    Thanks, everyone! I’m excited to try eating during a run on Sunday.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

