Tales of a domestic disaster

I’ve been thinking all morning about my struggles with food the past few days, and wondering about the sudden influx of junk food cravings. The reasons:

1. I am a kitchen disaster. Genuinely awful–as in, everything I touch turns to charcoal. In the past, I’ve gotten around this problem with a combination of takeout and frozen/boxed food. Now, when I’m trying to choose healthy foods, it’s a real struggle to find a variety of flavorful options that aren’t terribly difficult to make. Last night, I tried a recipe from Self magazine. It looks beautiful in the photos, and doable even for the domestically challenged…but it was absolutely flavorless. All that work–I even fried the bloody sage leaves, for goodness sake–for a bland bunch of noodles and squash.

This is really, really frustrating for someone who hates to cook in the first place! How easy it is to turn to lovely, salty–and yes, terribly unhealthy–frozen pizza. 🙂 So I need more easy-to-make options! But where to look? How to keep them on hand for easy reference? (I’m not kidding about being cooking-clueless.)

2. I’ve stopped paying attention to calories. After my first successful week or so of healthful eating, I got cocky about my understanding of portion size and “good” foods and stopped keeping track. Bad idea, because it’s certainly possible to eat too much of a good thing. So, I’m back at it again, using the fantastic Lose It! app. Although it’s a pain, watching calories promotes a mindfulness about food and helps me choose healthier options instead of just snacking on whatever is around.

3. Travel. While this isn’t an issue now, it will be in the upcoming months. I travel 100% of the time, and do not maintain a permanent residence.  As a result, I do not have on hand a stock of staples for cooking attempts, and often have to rely on restaurants or foreign grocery stores. Not an issue in developed countries, but Central and South America are another story–meat is often suspect and eggs are out, so I foresee lots of beans and veggies in my future. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Half Marathon

One response to “Tales of a domestic disaster

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I am indeed planning to run Chicago in October. Scary and exciting!

    In terms of cooking, I highly recommend allrecipes.com. Not only can you search for recipes by ingredient but you can also see tons of reviews for each recipe. People comment about what they liked, what they tweaked, what they didn’t like, etc. It’s a great way to learn about what kinds of recipes work and what kinds don’t.

Leave a Reply

