5 things this runner is grateful for

1. A great run on a bad day. This evening, I was exhausted and crabby, work was frustrating, my shoulders were tight, the couch was comfortable, the TV was good, and Friday couldn’t come soon enough. After much procrastinating, I reluctantly headed out the door only to have the most amazing, effortless (and fastest!) run of my short running career. Not only did I not take a single walk break for the first time in my time at high(er) altitude (about 5000 ft, a big deal when you’re coming from sea level), but I barely noticed my legs because of…

2. NPR’s “This American Life.” Oh, how I love NPR. I love the soothing voices and the way they calm my road rage. And, as it turns out, I love it for running as well. Although I usually listen to running podcasts, I made a last-minute decision to pull up the latest This American Life and was well rewarded. Instead of focusing on my legs and lungs, I was immersed in the story–and disappointed to stop running because it meant I couldn’t finish it till my next run. Because that’s the functionality of the…

3. Nike+. This little gadget is such a great motivational tool (and for $29, well worth it). Although it occasionally needs recalibration, it’s just fantastic. I love the 5K setting because it has a little voice that chimes in every kilometer to let me know how far I’ve gone. Plus, I was oh-so-pleased to upload the run and see that my average pace was just over 9 minutes per mile, with a bizarre 7:19 burst near the end. Which means that Lance Armstrong’s voice came on to tell me that I’d just run my personal best. ๐Ÿ™‚ And to think, I wouldn’t have gone for a run if it hadn’t been for…

4. My mom. I’m visiting my family for a month between crazy travel adventures, and she’s been great about getting me out the door when I don’t want to. She knows how to push me in a way that gets my hackles up just enough to goad me into running. And she does it when I’m making excuses, because she knows how important running is to me.

5. And finally, the post-run shower.
Especially when it’s extra-hot and extra-long. Add in a few stretches and it’s perfect. Is there anything more relaxing?

Oh, and one extra–tomorrow is Friday!!

3 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon, Nike+

3 responses to “5 things this runner is grateful for

  1. Tom

    I can’t agree more with your first point. I had a rough day yesterday and almost didn’t run. After I did I felt like a million bucks and it helped clear my head.

    Great post.

  2. run4may

    I stumbled upon your blog and noticed that your a new runner with the ultimate goal of Chicago 10.10.10. My goal for 2010 is to finish my first marathon- Chicago. I have been a runner since middle school however, this means nothing in the running community. I have quickly learned that if you have never completed a marathon you are considered a beginner. I look forward to following your blog. You should check mine out at afragogrunner.wordpress.com. Do you reside in Chicago?

  3. i TOTALLY agree with your list….although i dont have a Nike+ – but after reading your suggestion i am going to look into it.

    I LOVE working out with NPR podcasts ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

