Better late than never

I’ve always been a big reader, and have always preferred to read things that were beyond my realm of experience. As a child, I read constantly (usually from books that were a bit too adult). So when I reached the situations covered in the books, I had someone else’s words to help identify the things I was feeling–my favorite is the first (and only) time I remember actually going weak in the knees over a guy and thinking, “Are you kidding me? This really HAPPENS?”

Thankfully, I finally reached the point where I caught up and was able to find my own words. 🙂

The thing is, I didn’t really grasp the full meaning of those authors’ words until I was in the moment, living them. The same goes for this new healthy lifestyle. I am crazy about magazines, and for years I’ve read the sensible fitness advice that’s parroted in every publication targeted at women.

“To avoid emotional eating, reward or comfort yourself with something other than food.”

“View food as fuel for your body.”

“Avoid over training in the early stages, because that increases the chance of quitting.”

And my favorite: “It has to be a lifestyle change, not a diet.”

For years, I’ve been able to rattle off these phrases on command, spouting the common-sense advice as if I knew what I was talking about. But the thing is, until I was living that healthy lifestyle, and actively choosing non-food rewards, and focusing on health instead of weight loss, nothing changed. I was just an overweight character who could spout off a lot of facts.

Now, as I’m running or grocery shopping, that sage advice comes back and helps me make the right choices. I’ve always been a bit of a late bloomer–better late than never! Plus, it’s comforting to know that I already have all of the necessary tools and information rolling around in this overcrowded brain of mine. My new mantra, when faced with delicious frozen pizza? “If you do as you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.”

What do you use as non-food rewards? I could use some ideas, because the first impulse is always to get these. So delicious and disgusting at the same time. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Half Marathon

One response to “Better late than never

  1. Carrie

    I just bought myself new shoes for running 6 miles (the farthest I had ever gone at that point). Mile 7 and I are having some difficulty due to knee pain. But when I get to mile 8, my next purchase is going either some new running clothes and/or entry into the Maryland Half Marathon training program/running group.

Leave a Reply

